Subject Areas

For area-specific Calls for Papers, please visit the folder here:
Area-Specific CFPs

9/11 in Popular Culture, Trinidad Linares, Bowling Green State University, tlinare@bgsu.edu

Adaptations   Marilyn Lorch, Northern Illinois University, mlorch1@niu.edu

Advertising and Public RelationsPatrick Karle, PNKarle@outlook.com

American, British, and Canadian Literature: 1800-1999, Jennifer Farrell, Milwaukee School of Engineering, drjkfarrell@gmail.com

Animation and Anime, Kay Clopton, Ohio State University, clopton.1@osu.edu

Art History and Visual Culture, Amy Drees, Northwest State Community College, adrees@northweststate.edu

Beer Culture, Josh Sopiarz, Governors State University, jsopiarz@govst.edu

British Popular Culture, Melissa Beattie, Independent Scholar, tritogeneia@aol.com

Celebrity and Stardom, Darrell L. Roe, Eastern New Mexico University, DARRELL.ROE@enmu.edu

Class StudiesJohn King, Bowling Green State University, joking@bgsu.edu

ComicsPaul R. Kohl, Communication Arts, Loras College, 1450 Alta Vista St., Dubuque IA 52001paul.kohl@loras.edu 

Creative Works: Fiction (NEW in 2022!)Jason Gaidis, jason.gaidis.mfa@gmail.com

Cultural Geography, Ap Vague, DePaul University, Apvague@gmail.com

Dance and Theater, Darryl Clark, Missouri State University, 1320 E. Belmont Springfield, MO 65804darryl.clark@siu.edu

Documentary, Julia Largent, McPherson College, largentj@mcpherson.edu

East Asian Popular Culture, Vivienne Tailor, Independent Scholar, vivienne.tailor@cgu.edu

Environment, Animals and Climate Change, Sarah McFarland Taylor, Northwestern University, smcftaylor@gmail.com

Ethnography, Ben Bishop, Muncie Community Schools, benbishop100@gmail.com

Family, Sumitra Srinivasan, University of Toledo, Sumitra.Srinivasan@utoledo.edu

Fan Studies, Shanna Gilkeson, Eastern Michigan University, sgilkeso@emich.edu

Fashion and Material CultureRenee Woods, St. Louis Community College, rtwoodsmo@gmail.com

Festivals and Food, Caryn E. Neumann, History, Miami University—Ohio, neumance@miamioh.edu

Film, Elizabeth Shiller, Ohio University, es449915@ohio.edu

Folklore, Myc Wiatrowski, Indiana University Bloomington, michwiat@indiana.edu

Gender Studies, Kathleen Kollman, Ohio State University

Girls’ Culture/Girls’ Studies, Brilynn Janckila, Michigan Technological University, Bjanckil@mtu.edu

Harry Potter Studies, Rebekah Buchanan, Western Illinois University, rj-buchanan@wiu.edu

Health and Disability, Kathleen Turner, Lincoln University, turner8kathleen@gmail.com

Hip HopBrianna Quade, University of Wisconsin-Milkwaukee, bmquade@uwm.edu

History, Caryn E. Neumann, History, Miami University—Ohio, neumance@miamioh.edu

Hockey Studies, Kevin McCarty, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, kevin.mccarty@siu.edu

Horror and Science Fiction/Fantasy, John A. Dowell, johndowell@mac.com

Humor, John A. Dowell, johndowell@mac.com

Indian/South Asian Popular Culture, Anthony Adah, Film Studies, Minnesota State University—Moorhead, adahan@mnstate.edu  and Sumitra Srinivasan, University of Toledo, Sumitra.Srinivasan@utoledo.edu

Indigenous Studies, Anthony Adah, Film Studies, Minnesota State University—Moorhead, adahan@mnstate.edu

Jewish StudiesJordan Adler, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, jzadler@uwm.edu

Latin American Popular Culture, Carolina Rocha, Southern Illinois University Edwardsviile, crocha@siue.edu

Midwestern CultureAmy Drees, Northwest State Community College, adrees@northweststate.edu

Music, Gary Burns, Communication, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb IL 60115, gburns@niu.edu

New MediaPam Wicks, Aurora University, pwicks22@gmail.com

Pedagogy and Popular Culture, Jessica Birch, jessicaelizabethbirch@gmail.com

Philosophy in Popular Culture, Christopher M. Innes, Boise State University, cinnes@boisestate.edu

PoliticsKaren Whedbee, Northern Illinois University, kwhedbee@niu.edu

Pop DivasBryan Bove, Bowling Green State University, bbove@bgsu.edu

Popular Genre Fiction, Peter Hesseldenz, University of Kentucky, phessel@uky.edu

Print Media and Popular Culture, Ayanna Gaines, Woodbury University, Ayanna.Gaines@woodbury.edu

Professional Development, Delana Price, Marshall University, TeachDJPrice@gmail.com

Race and Ethnicity, Jessica Birch, jessicaelizabethbirch@gmail.com

Reality Television, Ann Andaloro, Morehead State University, a.andaloro@moreheadstate.edu

Religion in Popular CultureJohn McCormack, Aurora University, jmccormack@aurora.edu

Sixties and Popular Culture, Paul R. Kohl, Communication Arts, Loras College, 1450 Alta Vista St., Dubuque IA 52001paul.kohl@loras.edu

Southern Literature and Culture, Ashley Moore Goulder, University of Tennessee at Martin, agoulder@utm

Sports CultureAllison Levin, Webster University, allisonlevin06@webster.edu

Star TrekShanna Gilkeson, Eastern Michigan University, sgilkeso@emich.edu

SubcultureTrinidad Linares, Bowling Green State University, tlinare@bgsu.edu

Tabletop and Board Game StudiesBrendan Riley, Columbia College of Chicago, briley@colum.edu

Television, Cory Barker, Department of Communication, Bradley University, cabarker@bradley.edu

Utopia/Dystopia, Bill Clough, West Virginia University Institute of Technology, William.Clough@mail.wvu.edu

Video GamesPam Wicks, Aurora University, pwicks22@gmail.com

Wrestling StudiesCarrieLynn D. Reinhard and Christopher Olson, Dominican University, UW-Milwaukee, creinhard@dom.edu  and chrstphrolson@gmail.com

Writing and Rhetoric in Popular Culture, Kit Medjesky, University of Findlay, medjesky@findlay.edu

Youth Literature and Media, Patrick Cox, Rutgers University, patrick.cox@rutgers.edu

Open Areas

Middle Eastern Culture