9-11 in Popular Culture, Paul Petrovic, Department of English, University of Tulsa, pauldpetrovic@gmail.com

Advertising and Public Relations, Kristy Tucciarone, Department of Theatre, Dance, and Media Studies, University of Missouri–St. Louis, tucciaronek@umsl.edu

African-American Popular Culture, Angela M. Nelson, Popular Culture, Bowling Green State University, anelson@bgsu.edu; Carlos D. Morrison, Communication, Alabama State University, cdmorrison@alasu.edu

Amusements and Entertainment, Omotayo Banjo, Department of Communication, University of Cincinnati, banjooo@ucmail.uc.edu

Animals and Plants in Popular Culture, Kathy Brady, Communication, University of Wisconsin—Whitewater, bradyk@uww.edu

Animation, Mark Gellis, Ketterling University, mgellis@kettering.edu

Art History and Visual Culture, Cortney Barko, Department of History, English, and Creative Arts, West Virginia University Institute of Technology, cortneybarko@gmail.com

Asian Popular Culture, Matt Duncan,  matt@chaospiral.com

Authorship and Auteurism, Dan Herbert, Screen Art & Cultures, University of Michigan, danherb@umich.edu

Birth Studies, Todd Comer, Department of English, Defiance College, proftod@gmail.com

British Popular Culture, Sarah Petrovic, Department of Humanities, Oklahoma Wesleyan University, spetrovic@okwu.edu

Celebrity and Stardom, Alexandra Newman, newmanal12@gmail.com

Comics, Paul R. Kohl, Communication Arts, Loras College, paul.kohl@loras.edu

Contemporary Studies, Jasara Hines, University of Central Florida, jhines7@knights.ucf.edu

Cultural Geography, Melissa Sartore, West Virginia Institute of Technology, Melissa.Sartore@mail.wvu.edu

Dance, Darryl Clark, Missouri State University, DarrylClark@missouristate.edu

Death Studies, Amy K. Drees, Arts and Humanities, Defiance College, adrees@defiance.edu

Documentary, Jeffrey P. Chown, Communication, Northern Illinois University, jchown@niu.edu

Environment and Culture, Sarah McFarland Taylor, Religious Studies, Northwestern University, Sarah@northwestern.edu

Ethnography, Malynnda Johnson, Communication, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, mindyj@uwm.edu

Family, Stella Ress, History, Loyola University Chicago, sress@luc.edu

Fan Studies, Katie Wilson, University of Louisville, KateMarieWilson@gmail.com

Fashion, Kelli Purcell-O’Brien, Department of English, The University of Memphis, kobrien1@memphis.edu

Fat Studies, Jasie Stokes, University of Louisville, jasiestokes@gmail.com

Festivals and Food, Caryn E. Neumann, History, Miami University—Ohio, neumance@miamioh.edu

Film, Gretchen Bisplinghoff, Communication, Northern Illinois University, gbisplin@niu.edu

Gender Studies, Amber Davisson, amberldavisson@gmail.com

Girls’ Culture/Girls’ Studies, Miriam Forman-Brunell, History, University of Missouri—Kansas City, Forman-BrunellM@umkc.edu

Health, Malynnda Johnson, Communication, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, mindyj@uwm.edu

Heroes in Popular Culture, Jef Burnham, jefburnham@gmail.com

Hip-Hop, Mark Anthony Caldwell, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, mac4@uwm.edu

History, Bob Batchelor, Thiel College, BBatchelor@thiel.edu

Horror and Science Fiction/Fantasy, John A. Dowell, Undergraduate University Division, Michigan State University, jdowell@msu.edu

Humor, John A. Dowell, Undergraduate University Division, Michigan State University, jdowell@msu.edu

Indian Popular Culture, Margaret Redlich, DePaul University, mredlich21@gmail.com; Sarah Petrovic, Department of Humanities, Oklahoma Wesleyan University, spetrovic@okwu.edu

Indigenous Studies, Anthony Adah, Film Studies, Minnesota State University—Moorhead, adahan@mnstate.edu

Jewish Studies, Linda Long-Van Brocklyn, History, Ohio State University, long-vanbrocklyn.1@osu.edu

Labor, Work, and Culture, Tom Discenna, Rhetoric, Communication, and Journalism, Oakland University, discenna@oakland.edu

Latin American Popular Culture, Felipe Gomez, Hispanic Studies, Department of Modern Languages, fgomez@andrew.cmu.edu

Libraries, Museums, and Collecting, Tom Caw, Music Public Services Librarian, Mills Music Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison, tcaw@library.wisc.edu

Material Culture, Trish Cunningham, Ohio State University, Cunningham.190@osu.edu

Middle Eastern Culture, Stacy Holden, Purdue University, sholden@purdue.edu

Military and Wartime Studies, Kathleen Kennedy, Department of History, Missouri State University, KathleenKennedy@Missouristate.edu

Music, Gary Burns, Communication, Northern Illinois University, gburns@niu.edu

Mystery, Thrillers, and Detective, and Crime Fiction, Maryan Wherry, Western Illinois University Quad-Cities, m-wherry@wiu.edu

Mythology, Jessica L. T. deVega, Religious Studies, Morningside College, devega@morningside.edu

New Media, Pam Wicks, Aurora University, pwicks22@gmail.com

Nineteenth Century Popular Culture, Erin Mae Clark, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota, eclark@smumn.edu

Otaku Studies, Jason Bennett, History, Collin College, mpca.otaku@gmail.com

Pedagogy and Popular Culture, Thomas J. Passero, School of Business, Owens Community College, Thomas_passero@owens.edu

Political Economy, John A. Grummel, Upper Iowa University, grummelj@uiu.edu

Politics, Janet Novak, Independent Scholar, novakjanet@yahoo.com

Print Media and Popular Culture, Ayanna Gaines, Associate Librarian, Ventura College, ayannag@gmail.com

Professional Development, Kathleen Turner, University of Mississippi, turner8kathleen@gmail.com; Bob Batchelor, Thiel College, BBatchelor@thiel.edu

Queer Studies, Kristopher L. Cannon, Communication, Georgia State University, kris.cannon@mac.com

Race & Ethnicity, Jessica Kaiser, American Studies, Purdue University, kaiser2@purdue.edu

Radio, Kathy Brady, Communication, University of Wisconsin—Whitewater, Whitewater WI 53190, bradyk@uww.edu

Reality Television, Ann Andaloro, Department of Communication, Media and Leadership, Morehead State University, a.andaloro@moreheadstate.edu

Religion and Popular Culture, David Schimpf, Theology, Marian University, dschimpf@marianuniversity.edu

Romance, Maryan Wherry, Western Illinois University Quad-Cities, m-wherry@wiu.edu

Science in Popular Culture, Michael Lachney, Science and Technology Studies, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Michael.lachney@gmail.com

Sixties and Popular Culture, Paul R. Kohl, Communication Arts, Loras College, paul.kohl@loras.edu

Southern Literature and Culture, Anne M. Canavan, English, Northern Illinois University, anne.canavan@gmail.com

Sports Culture, Ben Dettmar, Department of History, Adrian College, bdettmar@adrian.edu

Subculture, Morgan Shipley, American Studies, Michigan State University, shiple18@msu.edu

Television, Cory Barker, Indiana University, barkerc@umail.iu.edu

Theatre, Laura Dougherty, Department of Theatre & Dance, Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC, doughertyl@winthrop.edu

Travel and Tourism, Daniel I. Vieyra, College of Architecture + Environmental Design, Kent State University, danvieyra@yahoo.com

Urban Studies, Megan Cannella, Joliet Junior College, megan.cannella@gmail.com

Video Games, Pam Wicks, Aurora University, pwicks22@gmail.com

Westerns, Kent Anderson, American Culture Studies, Bowling Green State University, kjander@bgsu.edu

Whedon Studies, Kadee Whaley, University of Kentucky, kwhaley87@gmail.com

Writing and Rhetoric in Popular Culture, Chris Blankenship, Department of English, Modern Languages, and Journalism, Emporia State University, c.n.blankenship@gmail.com

Youth Literature and Media, Orlando Dos Reis, dosreis@ksu.edu

 

If you are interested in becoming an area chair of the below open panels (or proposing a new area), please contact the Vice President at vicepresident@mpcaaca.org

African Studies
Amusements and Entertainment
Disability and Popular Culture
Globalization
Historically Black Colleges and Universities in Popular Culture
Irish Studies
Middle Eastern Culture
Midwestern Culture
Philosophy and Popular Culture
Pornography
Twentieth-Century Studies
Utopia/Dystopia
War

 

Comments are closed.