Subject Areas

9-11 in Popular Culture, Paul Petrovic, Department of English, University of Tulsa, pauldpetrovic@gmail.com

Adaptations, Amanda Roberts, Department of English, Northern Illinois University, aroberts3@niu.edu

Advertising and Public Relations, Patrick Karle, New York Institute of Technology, pkarle@nyit.edu

African-American Popular Culture, Angela M. Nelson, Popular Culture, Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green OH 43403-0190, anelson@bgsu.edu; Carlos D. Morrison, Communications, Alabama State University, P.O. Box 271, Montgomery AL 36101-0271, cdmorrison@alasu.edu

African Studies, Amy E. Harth, Ph.D. Program in Interdisciplinary Studies, Union Institute & University, amy.harth@email.myunion.edu

Amusements and Entertainment, Omotayo Banjo, Department of Communication, University of Cincinnati, banjooo@ucmail.uc.edu

Animation and Anime, Mark Gellis, Ketterling University, mgellis@kettering.edu

Art History and Visual Culture, Rachel Bragg, West Virginia University Institute of Technology, Department of History, English, and Creative Arts, Montgomery, WV, Rachel.Bragg@mail.wvu.edu

Asian and Asian American Popular Culture, Mark Martell, University of Chicago, mmartell@uic.edu

British Popular Culture, Sarah Petrovic, Department of Humanities, Oklahoma Wesleyan University, Bartlesville, OK, 74006, spetrovic@okwu.edu

Celebrity and Stardom, Alexandra Newman, newmanal12@gmail.com

Comics, Paul R. Kohl, Communication Arts, Loras College, 1450 Alta Vista St., Dubuque IA 52001,  paul.kohl@loras.edu

Contemporary Studies, Jasara Hines, University of Central Florida, jhines7@knights.ucf.edu

Cultural Geography, Melissa Sartore, History, West Virginia University Institute of Technology, Melissa.Sartore@mail.wvu.edu

Dance, Darryl Clark, Missouri State University, 1320 E. Belmont, Springfield, MO 65804, darryl.clark@siu.edu

Disability and Popular Culture, Hayley Haugen, Ohio University Southern, haugen@ohio.edu

Documentary, Jeffrey P. Chown, Communication, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb IL 60115, jchown@niu.edu

Environment and Culture, Sarah McFarland Taylor, Religious Studies, Northwestern University, 1860 Campus Drive, Crowe Hall, Evanston, IL 60208, Sarah@northwestern.edu

Ethnography, Malynnda Johnson, Communication, University of Mount Union, johnsoma@mountunion.edu

Family, Stella Ress, History, University of Southern Indiana, Department of History, sress@usi.edu

Fan Studies, Katie Wilson, University of Louisville, KateMarieWilson@gmail.com

Fashion, Kelli Purcell-O’Brien, Department of English, The University of Memphis, kobrien1@memphis.edu

Fat Studies, Jasie Stokes, University of Louisville, jasiestokes@gmail.com

Festivals and Food, Caryn E. Neumann, History, Miami University—Ohio, neumance@miamioh.edu

Gender Studies, Amber Davisson, amberldavisson@gmail.com

Girls’ Culture/Girls’ Studies, Miriam Forman-Brunell, History, University of Missouri—Kansas City, Kansas City MO 64110, Forman-BrunellM@umkc.edu

Health, Malynnda Johnson, Communication, University of Mount Union, johnsoma@mountunion.edu

Heroes in Popular Culture, Jef Burnham, DePaul University, jefburnham@gmail.com

Hip-Hop, Mark Anthony Caldwell, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, mac4@uwm.edu

History, Melissa Sartore, History, West Virginia University Institute of Technology, Melissa.Sartore@mail.wvu.edu

Horror and Science Fiction/Fantasy, John A. Dowell, NSSC, Michigan State University, East Lansing MI 48824, jdowell@msu.edu

Humor, John A. Dowell, NSSC, Michigan State University, East Lansing MI 48824-1033, jdowell@msu.edu

Indian Popular Culture, Margaret Redlich, DePaul University, mredlich21@gmail.com

Indigenous Studies, Anthony Adah, Film Studies, Minnesota State University—Moorhead, Moorhead MN 56563, adahan@mnstate.edu

Jewish Studies, Carolina Rocha, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, crocha@siue.edu

Labor, Work, and Culture, Tom Discenna, Rhetoric, Communication, and Journalism, Oakland University, Rochester MI 48309, discenna@oakland.edu

Libraries, Museums, and Collecting, Tom Caw, Music Public Services Librarian, Mills Music Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI 53706-1324, tcaw@library.wisc.edu

Material Culture, Trish Cunningham, Ohio State University, Cunningham.190@osu.edu

Middle Eastern Culture, Stacy Holden, Purdue University, sholden@purdue.edu

Midwestern Culture, Armeda Reitzel, Department of Communication, Humboldt State University, Armeda.Reitzel@humboldt.edu

Military and Wartime Studies, Kathleen Kennedy, Department of History, Missouri State University, KathleenKennedy@Missouristate.edu

Music, Gary Burns, Communication, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb IL 60115, gburns@niu.edu

Mystery, Thrillers, and Detective, and Crime Fiction, Maryan Wherry, Western Illinois University Quad-Cities, wherrym@gmx.com

Mythology, Jessica L. T. deVega, Religious Studies, Morningside College, Charles City College Hall 204, Sioux City, IA 51106, devega@morningside.edu

New Media, Pam Wicks, Aurora University, pwicks22@gmail.com

Nineteenth Century Popular Culture, Erin Mae Clark, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota, eclark@smumn.edu

Otaku Studies, Jason Bennett, History, Collin College, McKinney, TX, mpca.otaku@gmail.com

Pedagogy & Popular Culture, Jessica Birch, jessicaelizabethbirch@gmail.com

Philosophy & Popular Culture, Amy K. Drees, Arts and Humanities, Defiance College, 701 N. Clinton St., Defiance, OH, 43512, adrees@defiance.edu

Politics, Janet Novak, Independent Scholar, 215 Prospect St., DeKalb IL 60115, novakjanet@yahoo.com

Pop Divas, Jesse A. Marden, Minnesota State University-Mankato, Mankato, MN, jesse.marden@mnsu.edu

Print Media and Popular Culture, Ayanna Gaines, Associate Librarian, Ventura College, 4667 Telegraph Road, Ventura, CA 93003, ayannag@gmail.com

Professional Development, Kathleen Turner, Aurora University, turner8kathleen@gmail.com

Queer Studies, Veronica Popp, Elmhurst College, poppv@net.elmhurst.edu

Race and Ethnicity, Jessica Birch, jessicaelizabethbirch@gmail.com

Reality Television, Ann Andaloro, Department of Communication, Media and Leadership, Morehead State University, 203 Breckinridge Hall, Morehead KY 40351, a.andaloro@moreheadstate.edu

Religion and Popular Culture, David Schimpf, Theology, Marian University, Fond du Lac WI 54935, dschimpf@marianuniversity.edu

Romance, Maryan Wherry, Western Illinois University Quad-Cities, m-wherry@wiu.edu

Science in Popular Culture, Michael Lachney, Science and Technology Studies, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Michael.lachney@gmail.com

Sixties and Popular Culture, Paul R. Kohl, Communication Arts, Loras College, 1450 Alta Vista St., Dubuque IA 52001, paul.kohl@loras.edu

Southern Literature and Culture, Anne M. Canavan, Salt Lake City Community College

Sports Culture, Ben Dettmar, American Studies, Michigan State University, dettmarb@msu.edu

Subculture, Morgan Shipley, American Studies, Michigan State University, shiple18@msu.edu

Television, Cory Barker, Department of Communication and Culture, Indiana University, barkerc@umail.iu.edu

Theatre, Laura Dougherty, Department of Theatre & Dance, Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC, doughertyl@winthrop.edu

Twentieth-Century Studies, James Knippling, University of Cincinnati, knippljr@ucmail.uc.edu

Urban Studies, Megan Cannella, University of Nevada, Reno, megan.cannella@gmail.com

Utopia/Dystopia, John A. Grummel, 605 Washington St., Liberal Arts Hall 218, Upper Iowa University, Fayette, IA 52142, grummelj@uiu.edu

Video Games, Pam Wicks, Aurora University, pwicks22@gmail.com

Westerns, Kent Anderson, American Culture Studies, Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green OH 43403, kjander@bgsu.edu

Whedon Studies, Kadee Whaley, University of Kentucky, kwhaley87@gmail.com

Writing and Rhetoric in Popular Culture, Chris Blankenship, Department of English, Modern Languages, and Journalism, Emporia State University, c.n.blankenship@gmail.com

Youth Literature and Media, Patrick Cox, Rutgers University, patrick.cox@rutgers.edu

If you are interested in becoming an area chair of the below open panels (or proposing a new area), please contact the Vice President at vicepresident@mpcaaca.org

OPEN AREAS:

Latin American Popular Culture